The Best Paleo Bolognese Ever

As you can see, I have been updating this blog frequently (ok, well, at least twice).  I could make a lot of excuses as to why, but they are all lame.  So I am determined to start making very frequent updates as I have been doing a lot of cooking and have gotten my wife to embrace the whole Paleo diet idea.

We even bought a Paleo cookbook, Practical Paleo.  It is a great guide to the Paleo diet/lifestyle and has some good recipes in it.

As always, I like to play with recipes and tweak them.  I got the base recipe for this out of Practical Paleo but have modified it a bit for my family’s tastes.  My 9 year old daughter exclaimed “If this is Paleo, I want to eat Paleo all of the time!”

IMG_0765

I serve this with spaghetti squash.  No, spaghetti squash doesn’t taste just like spaghetti, but it does give you a decent carb taste and does not over power the sauce.

2 lbs ground beef (92% lean – try and get grass fed if possible)
2 slices uncured bacon, diced
1 28 oz can San Marzano Tomatoes – crushed
2 carrots, diced
2 celery stalks, diced
1 lg sweet onion, diced
4 medium cloves garlic
Fresh basil (about 8 leaves)
Fresh oregano (optional – about 6-8 small leaves)
Olive oil
Salt – to taste
Pepper- to taste

In a large sauté pan, add olive oil (1 Tbsp or so, enough so the veggies don’t stick) and sweat carrots, celery and onions until translucent. Add bacon and stir until cooked. Add ground beef and cook until all of the water is cooked out and it is slightly brown (do not over brown).  I don’t like my ground beef chunky, so I spend a good amount of time breaking it up while it is cooking.

While beef is cooking. In a separate pan add tomato sauce, sliced oregano, julienned basil and chopped garlic and simmer for 5 minutes.

Once beef mixture is fully cooked, add tomato sauce mixture and simmer for 5 minutes. Salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

